St Catherine's College Middle Common Room

Open Meeting Minutes

Sunday 10th November, 2019 at 7pm in the MCR

In attendance:

50 MCR members in total

Executive Committee Members Present:

Vivek Kothari - President (Meeting Chair)

Chloe Colson - Secretary

Federico Zilic de Arcos – Social Secretary



Minutes taken by MCR Secretary, Chloe Colson

I. Approval of minutes from the previous meeting

Some revisions to be made, Vivek to write to Chloe about it and discuss at the next Open Meeting with the MCR.

II. Election of Executive Committee members

Candidates:

Co-Presidents: 1. Chloe Colson	Seconders: Ben Jackman, Wolfgang Stockinger
2. Henrique Aguiar	Seconders: Lo-Ching Chow, Francesco Feriozzi

Candidates were unopposed and duly elected.

Secretary:

1. Ben Jackman	Seconders: Katie Prosser, Nora Stai
2. Himani Aggarwal	Seconders: Arlette Nyembo, Hajra Bibi
3. Si Yee	Seconders: Parth Patel, Zhilin Liang

Secret ballot used to vote for these candidates, results to be published after the official count has been made.

Bar Manager: Arlette Nyembo Seco	onders: Charlotte Lee, Jenith J	othi Felix
----------------------------------	---------------------------------	------------

Candidate was unopposed and duly elected.

Social Secretary: Valentina Semenova Seconders: Fabien Zaiser, Shayla Schlossenberg

Candidate was unopposed and duly elected.

III. Election of Regular Committee members

Candidates:

Environmental Rep:	
1. Andrea Terminel Lembert	Seconders: Natalia Ospina, Ilya Zlotnikov
2. Noah Wescombe	Seconders: Charlotte Lee,

Andrea was unable to attend the meeting due to unforeseen circumstances, effectively making the position uncontested and Noah was therefore elected.

Noah suggested contacting Andrea to see if she would like to act as joint officers in this role, as he deemed it unfair that she lose all consideration solely on the basis of her absence.

Female Welfare Rep: 1.Charlotte Wendland Seconders: Nergiz Oprescu, Louie Iselin 2. Charlotte Lee Seconders: Gavin Herbertson, Parker Chan Secret ballot used to vote for these candidates, results to be published after the official count has been made. **Tea and Biscuit Officers:** 1. Noémie Deom Seconders: Shayla Schlossenberg, Charlotte Wendland 2. Laura Wheatley Seconders: Arlette Nyembo, Ananya Sharma Candidates were unopposed and duly elected. Sports Officer: Helena Page Seconders: Katie Prosser, Jenith Jothi Felix Candidate was unopposed and duly elected. LGBTQ+ Officer: Frazer Martin Seconders: Benjamin Jackman, Oshmita Ray Fourth Year Rep: Rogan Clark Seconders: Nergiz Oprescu and Mark Todd Catz House Rep: Kevin Bruggeman Seconders: Noah Wescombe, Usuta Kavari **OUSU rep:** Peerce McManus Seconders: Usuta Kavari and Kevin Bruggeman

IV. Proposal of new Regular Committee positions

1. Nergiz Oprescu would like to create and run for a position entitled Digital Communications Officer.

Nergiz explained what the position would entail in her mind, her main goal is to enhance digital communication at Catz. This would be through a more active Instagram platform, possibly a new Twitter account, etc. as well as by creating advertisements for events happening at Catz. She mentioned being open to any suggestions and being keen to actively discuss with the rest of the Committee about the best ways to go about increasing Catz' digital presence.

Giedre Cepukaityte mentioned at this point that Catz does have the position of Editorial Officer, which could go hand-in-hand with Nergiz' proposed position.

The MCR voted to create the position of Editorial and Digital Communications Officer.

Nergiz subsequently ran for the position, uncontested, and was duly elected.

2. Jenith Jothi Felix and Oshmita Ray would like to suggest making the BME Officer position a joint-position that they would fill together.

The idea behind this is to better represent the BME community as they both have different and complementary ideas of what they would like to achieve through their role. Having two officers would also help ensure that the role doesn't get forgotten, with both members keeping each other accountable.

The MCR voted to modify the current BME position so that it can be occupied either by a single individual or a pair choosing to run together. In the event that two people that initially chose to run as a single and then decided they would rather join forces to become a pair, this shall be allowed as long as the decision is taken 24h before the elections and the Secretary has been duly informed.

Minto and Oshy subsequently ran for the position, uncontested, and were duly elected.

V. AOB

Motion from the previous meeting:

Allow executive committee to make appointments, which would require elections, between CR meetings

Proposed by: Vivek Kothari

Seconded by: Henrique Aguiar, Lo-Ching Chow, Hamez Gacaferi, Daniel Gregory

- 1. The executive committee can make pro-term appointments for positions, which are vacant.
- 2. These need to be confirmed by a full election at the next CR meeting
- 3. Appointments must be made by a 3/5th majority of the entire committee voting, including a co-president.
- 4. Votes may be cast via email or another remote service.

The goal with this motion is that no position on the Committee remains unfilled for a long period of time. Any member appointed to a position in this way would be required to run officially, along other possible candidates, during an Open Meeting.

The motion was approved by the MCR by show of hands.